OKC VeloCity | Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools names Wall of Fame honorees

Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools names Wall of Fame honorees

By Staff Reports / Inside OKC / August 15, 2018

The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools announced it will recognize three people Oct. 29 at the organization's 34th annual Wall of Fame Humanitarian Awards dinner.

The honorees will join 81 other alumni and community leaders who have been inducted since the Wall of Fame was created in 1985.

Rick Bayless, a graduate of Northwest Classen High School, is an award-winning chef. He is best known for winning the title of Bravo's Top Chef Master.

Also to be inducted are:

• Legand L. Burge Jr., a Douglass High School graduate and retired U.S. Air Force colonel. He is founder and president of LLBurge & Associates LLC, a minority-owned information technology services company.

• Faye Norton, graduated from Capitol Hill High School and started her own business, Designer Hardware by Faye, in 1982. It was the second female-owned company in the industry at that time and was sold in January 2014.

"The Wall of Fame celebrates individuals who built on the foundation of what they learned in OKCPS to make a difference," said Mary Mélon, president and CEO of The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools. "Rick, Legand and Faye demonstrate OKCPS students can succeed in any field they choose, and that a community's investment in public education pays lifelong dividends."

The event will include a reception at 6 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m. at the Skirvin Hilton Hotel in downtown Oklahoma City. Thurman V. White Jr., a 2017 Wall of Fame honoree, and Claudia San Pedro, president of SONIC, America's Drive-In, are co-chairs for the event.

For sponsorship information, contact debby@okckids.com.

See the article on okckids.com or read on newsok.com.

internal velocity email signups
Total Votes: 91 Avg Vote: 1