OKC VeloCity | OK County Criminal Justice Advisory Council selected to national organization

OK County Criminal Justice Advisory Council selected to national organization

By Chamber Staff / Inside OKC / August 9, 2018

The National Network of Criminal Justice Coordinating Councils approved membership for our local Chamber-formed group after a lengthy application process, allowing representatives to attend the recent NNCJCC annual meeting in Salt Lake City.

According to the NNCJCC, around 50 groups applied for membership this year, but only eight were selected to join the Council. Those included:

• Bernalillo County, New Mexico (Albuquerque)
• Buncombe County, North Carolina (Asheville)
• Dallas County, Texas
• Dutchess County, New York (Poughkeepsie)
• Franklin County, Ohio (Columbus)
• Lewis and Clark County, Montana (Helena)
• Oklahoma County, Oklahoma (Oklahoma City)
• Palm Beach County, Florida

According to the NNCJCC, the annual meeting "provides attendees with peer-to-peer learning opportunities and discussion of issues most relevant to criminal justice coordinating councils (CJCCs) around the country."

The Oklahoma County Criminal Justice Advisory Council was formed late last year through an interlocal agreement to institutionalize cooperation and planning for the criminal justice system in Oklahoma County. Tim Tardibono was selected as Executive Director. The stated goals of the Oklahoma County CJAC are to: study and evaluate the criminal justice system; collect and analyze data related to the criminal justice system; promote increased efficiency and effectiveness of the criminal justice system; recommend policies and programs to reduce recidivism, reduce jail population and increase community and public safety; recommend policies and practices to control the costs of criminal justice system and incarceration; and increase community support for the criminal justice system.

Council membership includes: a member of the Board of Oklahoma County Commissioners, Ray Vaughn; the Presiding Judge of the Oklahoma County District Court, Tim Henderson; the Court Clerk of Oklahoma County, Rick Warren; the District Attorney of Oklahoma County, David Prater; the Sheriff of Oklahoma County, PD Taylor; the Oklahoma County Public Defender, Bob Ravitz; the Commissioner of the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Terri White; the City Manager of Oklahoma City, Jim Couch; the Presiding Judge of Oklahoma City Municipal Court, Philippa James; the Court Administrator of the City of Oklahoma City, LaShawn Thompson; the Chief of Police of Oklahoma City, Bill Citty; the City Manager of Edmond, Larry Stevens; the City Manager of Midwest City, Guy Henson; the President of the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, Roy Williams; and an additional representative designated by the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, Clay Bennett; and four community representatives designated by vote of the Council: Sue Ann Arnall, Pastor Theodis Manning, Dan Straughhan, and Tony Tyler.

For more information about criminal justice reform in Oklahoma County and the CJAC and its work, see www.smartsafeokco.com.

Total Votes: 187 Avg Vote: 1