OKC VeloCity | Bang the drums! The Philharmonic is back!

Bang the drums! The Philharmonic is back!

By Justin Tinder / Lifestyle / November 3, 2020

Oklahoma’s largest professional performing arts group, the Oklahoma City Philharmonic Orchestra, returned to the Civic Center Music Hall in October after a seven-month pause as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The (re)IMAGINE(d) concert series featuring famous classical and popular music has energizing 60-minute programs without intermission, creating a socially-distanced setting both on- and off-stage.

These new plans, created in partnership with The Civic Center Music Hall, are compliant with the health and safety standards provided by the CDC, state and city mandates, and advice from highly-regarded health experts, and guidelines for public gatherings, designed to protect those in attendance.

One of the important safety protocols for fans to note is that tickets will be paperless. Tickets can be downloaded onto a mobile device and programs will be sent digitally to ticket holders on the Tuesday before the event.

The season has something for everyone, from fans of Queen to devout followers of Beethoven. The whole schedule can be found at www.okcphil.org.

Upcoming performances include

"The Magic of John Williams"
Nov. 6-7
This delightful concert will bring some of the most iconic John Williams’ scores to life. The exciting musical journey will showcase his work on such classic films as "Star Wars," "Jurassic Park," "Jaws," "Indiana Jones," "Superman" and "Harry Potter." 

A Classic Christmas
Dec. 3-5
Featuring Mandy Jiran and host Vince Leseney, this year’s Christmas performance is a simpler yet elegant blend of sentimental favorites and fun Christmas standards that are sure to touch your heart. Bring your family for an entertaining and meaningful musical offering that will invoke reflection and help you imagine a future of hope and possibility.

This content originally appeared on The Better Life blog.

internal velocity email signups
Total Votes: 7 Avg Vote: 1